Simple Things I Used to Take for Granted

There are so many things in our daily life that we take for granted. We’ve got used to these things; we feel as if they’re a right, not a privilege. Since breaking my wrist and not being able to do anything with my left hand for a month now, I’ve realised how many simple things from our daily lives are actually blessings; they bring us joy every day and we don’t even notice!

Here are the blessings I look forward to having again when my wrist heals:

baking cooking cake

Cooking. I love making a delicious meal, especially if it’s dinner for my family. I love trying new recipes and inventing new ones.I feel like I’ve lost a means of expression and creation by not being able to peel, cut and grate (or even open a can of tomato sauce).

*

girl riding bike

Cycling. Ah, the joy of riding a bike on a warm spring afternoon…too dangerous for a girl with fragile bones.

*

manicure silver nail polish

Manicure. Neat nails are an essential part of a woman’s hygiene. But we need two hands to do a manicure!

*

woman shower washing hair

A proper shower. Having a shower with one hand isn’t easy. Or enjoyable. I can’t wait to be able to scrub and exfoliate properly again!

*

elegant style

Wearing normal clothes. For a month I couldn’t fit my cast into a sleeve. So I had to wear t-shirts and my partner’s baggy hoodies wherever I went. Not my usual style. At all. My new pretty shirts still have their price tags on.

*

typing laptop pretty nails

Typing. Ever tried typing with one hand? It’s slower and more laborious. Sometimes, I think ‘urgh’ when I realise I have to type something, because what was once natural with ten fingers has now become an effort five only five.

*

multitasking

Multitasking. I usually multitask while I’m on the phone. I make tea, check e-mails and tidy up while waiting for customer service to answer. I can also quickly get any paper or information they need. With one hand I must simply wait for them to pick up and have all my documents ready in advance!

*

waitress carrying tray with drinks

Carrying more than one thing at once. It takes a while for me to bring back the plates and glasses and food and seasoning from the dinner table…

*

yoga on beach

Yoga. Probably the saddest thing about having a broken wrist. I can live without manicures, I can accept wearing baggy clothes, I can even enjoy being cooked for. But not being able to do yoga?! I feel like my body has aged by ten years since I’ve stopped stretching and twisting and moving.

 Do YOU take any daily blessings for granted?

4 thoughts on “Simple Things I Used to Take for Granted

  1. Wishing you speedy healing. I broke my foot some years back and was in an air cast for 10 weeks. Gratitude for the small things in life came from that experience.

  2. Fantastic post . . . especially since you probably typed it with one hand! I’ve had one arm out of commission for a few days, but never for as long as you.

    Everything from brushing my hair to brushing my teeth had to be handled in a different way. S~L~O~W going!

    Glad you’re allowing yourself TIME to heal.

What do you think?

