Is your home an accurate external reflection of you?

In March, the Los Angeles Times published a fascinating article about the effect of possessions on our lives. Here are my favourite quotes:

The average U.S. household has 300,000 things, from paper clips to ironing boards.

U.S. children make up 3.7% of children on the planet but have 47% of all toys and children’s books.

messy toy room with too many toys

*

Full bookshelves say, ‘I’m well-read. I have lots of books.’ But really, you just buy books.

bookshelves full of books home library

*

I don’t think stuff is inherently wrong or bad […] but if things have become obstacles to your happiness, that’s a problem.

woman crushed too much stuff

*

I cleaned out my fridge, and now I can change careers.

snoopy happy dancing

Do you use things to make you  appear to be a certain way (such as with books and intelligence)?

What effect does decluttering have on you?

 

4 thoughts on “Is your home an accurate external reflection of you?

  1. It’s taken me awhile to realize that less is more.
    You’re welcome to come to my monthly garage sale, in case you don’t have enough stuff of your own to get rid of. 🙂

    • I would love to do that – thank you for the invitation…although it would probably require me to pack all my stuff up and travel across the Atlantic, not sure my ‘junk’ is worth it 😉

  2. That bookcase creates the impression of a well-read individual . . . who might not ever crack open a book.

    Decluttering is liberating to me. A freeing feeling of “losing weight.”

    • I find bookshelves and home libraries beautiful. But I’ve realised that I’d prefer to keep my absolute favourite books only and give the rest away. Books, like all other objects, carry their own energy and I want to be surrounded by a positive one!

What do you think?

