Simple, Old-Fashioned Things I Love Doing

Although I’m not very old, there are a few old-fashioned things I love doing…

 *

Sending letters and postcards
(Yes, that’s right – handwritten via the post!)

woman-writing

*

Borrowing books from the library
(Yes, libraries still exist and yes, people still go there)

girl reading book in library

*

Playing card and board games
(It’s more fun to play together than alone on a computer)

playing cards old

*

Copying out my favourite quotes
(Into a pretty notebooks)

pretty notebook

*

Smelling flowers
(How can we miss out on such joy?)

woman smelling-flowers

*

Stopping to look at the sky
(If I’m with somebody, they always ask “What are you doing?”)

looking at the sky sunset sea

*

Resting on Sundays
(We all need a day of joy in the week)

coffee tea cup magic dreaming forest nature

What simple, old-fashioned things do YOU love doing?

18 thoughts on “Simple, Old-Fashioned Things I Love Doing

  1. That’s such a wonderful list.

    I personally love a long walk with people and you know talking it out.

    Also to just read on a balcony with a cup of coffee!

    Thank you for this post. Such posts reminds us all of how it is the little things that matter. 🙂

  2. Love this, especially sending handwritten letters and resting on Sundays. Some of the best things in life are becoming lost arts!

  3. What a wonderful list ~ like you, I love writing letters, visiting libraries, smelling flowers, watching the sky (day and night), collecting quotes, and playing games.

  4. Pingback: A Happy Note ~ Daisy Days | Spirit Lights The Way

  5. Great list! I love the library also. My only gripe is when obviously someone had a pet and they got all over the books because I can’t stop sneezing and my eyes watering. 😦 I love pets too which makes it even harder.

    My favorite thing is looking at the stars or clouds and making up my own constellations/stories.

    Another thing is to have picnics with a basket and everything!

  6. Oh snail mails ❤ I remember how the post office used to be my favorite place. It's fascinating how similar are fondness for old and simple things is. 🙂 I love the sound of typewriters too – the older the better. One thing I wish I can do here is to travel by old trains.

    By the way, I'd like to share to you what my childhood was like back in the 90s – http://hersoles.com/2014/04/22/there-where-nostalgia-land-is/

    *hands you some old colored bottles with wild flowers in them*

What do you think?

