Save a Year of Your Life by Decluttering

One thing I love most about travelling is getting my possessions down to the basics. I’ve come to stay with family for a few weeks and only have a handful of clothes with me. How simple it is to pick what to wear! I have a casual outfit (jeans), a fun social outfit, a sophisticated outfit, and two professional outfits. All I need to do is put on the outfit that suits the occasion. No rummaging through my wardrobe, no spending hours choosing what to wear, no panic in front of a pile of clothes, and no doubt about whether I made the right choice.

I read an article recently that said that women spend nearly one year of their lives deciding what to wear. According to this article, “on average women will try on two outfits each morning before coming to a final decision. And one in two women spend 15 minutes the night before work working out what to wear.”

We spend so much time figuring out what to wear because we either have too much to wear or unsuitable clothes to wear. Imagine how much time we could save by reducing the amount of clothes we own and by refining them to what is essential for our lifestyle. In doing so, we would reduce the hesitation, uncertainty and confusion of choosing an outfit from endless unsuitable options. So how about it? Let’s save time by decluttering, organizing and prioritizing!

Source: The Telegraph

Source: The Telegraph

 

 

7 thoughts on “Save a Year of Your Life by Decluttering

  1. Wow! That article is a real eye opener. I’m happy to say I have never obsessed over what to wear. Most days, I spend less than 5 minutes getting dressed, including hair. And I don’t waste time shopping for clothes, shoes, handbags, jewelry, etc.

    I am NOT an “ornament.” :mrgreen:

    • It’s great that you are so sure of exactly what you need to wear. I personally love having pretty things (clothes, shoes, handbags, jewellery) because I love being surrounded by things I find beautiful. However, I only shop twice a year, when I need to renew old items.

  2. I’ve been a minimalist for a few years now and love it! I prefer less over more and my possessions don’t own me. Great post and blog!

    • Good for you! We don’t need as much as we think for comfortable and happy living. Too many possessions actually create burdens and inconveniences. Simple is simpler πŸ™‚

      • Amen to that! Society tells us we need stuff and more stuff. People think things make them happy, but truly they do not. Simple is the only way to go πŸ˜‰

  3. I once forgot my suitcase on a three-city trip of one week. I discovered then that I have more than enough, and can travel much lighter than I had.

    • Isn’t it funny how we always prepare our suitcase almost out of fear? We think “But what if ….” and pack a million things into it for every situation we think of! I’m currently living with six changes of clothes in my wardrobe. And that’s more than enough!

What do you think?

