Decluttering for Perfectionists

I am a perfectionist and therefore, when it comes to decluttering, I feel like every area of my house should be perfectly organized with no excess possessions. While unpacking boxes in my new flat, I sometimes thought “I don’t use this, maybe I should get rid of it” or “I have too many books, they’re really overwhelming on my shelves”. These excesses caused me stress and disappointment. I wanted everything to be perfect, but couldn’t necessarily create this perfection immediately (unneeded things need a new home, books need to be read…).

The whole point of decluttering is to live in a way that our possessions don’t get in our way. We declutter to make more space, to create comfort and ease, to reduce cleaning, to clear our minds. Therefore, possessions should never become obsessions – whether this means obsessing about owing too much or obsessing about decluttering. Possessions should fit in comfortably with our lifestyle – there to serve and please us, but not to burden us.

I realised that I may never reach ‘possession perfection’. So if I am to live in harmony with my material things, I need to accept that I can’t have control over everything. I need to accept imperfection – yes, I have too many books; yes, I have clothes I don’t wear; yes, I have cosmetic products I don’t use. But if I can’t deal with this today and if it isn’t having a negative impact on my daily life, I need to shrug it off and get on with my life. Now that I have decluttered enough to be comfortable in my home, it’s time to get on with life! The excess that remains will fall away as life takes its course.

woman walking path

 

7 thoughts on “Decluttering for Perfectionists

  1. Well said. I’ve been trying to declutter bit by bit because I realised stuff doesn’t make me happy and it just creates anxiety, but decluttering also may trigger anxiety because we want to do it perfectly and once and for all. Remember in the first place why you want to declutter and let your anxiety go.

  2. I pray that one day I could actually declutter my garage and my kid’s rooms! The problem is my kids (aged 21,24 & 27) live on their own (small apartment) and still don’t want we to get rid of their video games, wooden doll cradle, doll sets, books or train sets, etc. They have an attachment to these items and whenever I whisper the words sell or donate, its like being on trial. Thanks to A-1 moving and Storage and their professional storage services, I was able to keep their childhood alive and claim my home back.Check out their website at http://www.a1moving.com/storage.cfm

What do you think?

