How many boxes does your life fit into?

I am moving out of my house in a month and I don’t yet know where I’m going next. I needed to change my current life situation – leave my job, move to a place with more opportunities – and so I gave my notice for the house in order to get things moving quicker.

So, with nothing yet lined up, I have been a bit worried about the move. All those things to pack, to transport, to store somewhere while I find my next destination! Amidst all this worry, I was very lucky to come across a text by Louise Hay on this exact topic. During what seemed like a difficult move, she would say affirmations to herself continuously: “The move is very simple to do”. So I too started saying to myself “The move is easy and cheap”.

After a few days of doing this, I had an epiphany: the move will be easier and cheaper if I have fewer possessions! Fewer things to pack, to transport and to store. Less time and money to spend on van hire and storage. Fewer things to worry about.

I decided that I would let go of as many possessions as possible. I want to fit all my necessary things for daily life into two suitcases, and other, less used things (such as summer clothes, for example) into three boxes.

Am I being too optimistic? Perhaps. The previous occupiers of the flat packed up over ninety boxes during their move….But we must at least try to do all we can to make life simpler and easier!

girl two suitacses

10 thoughts on “How many boxes does your life fit into?

  1. I think you are definitely on the right track. It will be a transition, for sure, but I definitely admire what you are doing. Keep us posted on how things go! 🙂

  2. Good luck! Over the years, we’ve simplified and down-sized and our life is always a better fit as a result. Out of sight . . . out of mind.

  3. Pingback: Who is Your Lifestyle Hero? | My Light Bag

  4. Pingback: My Life in 30 Boxes | My Light Bag

What do you think?

